• A  A  A  


A Guide to the Governing Body

The Governing Body has a total of twenty three members each of whom brings their own specific expertise, skills and experience.  All Governors give their time voluntarily and have always shown a high level of commitment to both the College itself and its mission.

The composition of the Governing Body is laid down by the College’s Instrument & Articles of Government. This is a legal document under the terms of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 which incorporated the College and establishes the Governing Body as a legal entity and defines what the Governing Body and the College may do. The Governing Body comprises:

The Chair is Mr Brendan O’Shea and the Vice Chair is Mrs Teresa Dervin.  The Governing Body employs a Clerk to facilitate all aspects of its work. The Clerk is Karen Stanhope.

The Responsibilities of the Governing Body

The full Governing Body meets six times per year. It receives reports from the Principal or the Clerk and its own committees. The key responsibilities of the Governing Body are:

The Roles and Responsibilities of Individual Governors

In legal terms, the Governing Body has a corporate identity separate from its members. This means that responsibility for actions and decisions rests with the Governing Body as a whole and not with individual governors. Governors are expected to show the highest loyalty and to act collectively in the best interest of the College.

The Roles of Committees

Although the full Governing Body meets six times a year, most of the detailed work is undertaken by committees which utilise the individual specialist skills of Governors.  The committees are: